SciFi Sounds – 8/7/2012

Truth be told, I sometimes have to convince myself to listen to music that wasn’t made by David Bowie. So deep is my creepy obsession love for the musical genius/goblin king, that I have to pry myself from my comfort zone to listen to new music. Frankly, Bowie is my desert island music. If I had to listen to just one album for the rest of my life, it would be Hunky Dory. But that is beside the point.

Because this is SciFi Sounds, which means that I want to talk about Bowie’s alien persona, Ziggy Stardust. The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars is a remarkable concept album. Ziggy is an alien rock star, sent to educate humanity about peace and love as we face the end of the world, but ultimately he falls victim to our society’s decadence, and is destroyed by it.

Ziggy Stardust is an incredibly creative album. Its most famous track is probably “Suffragette City,” but there are so many gems that may be less familiar, like “Five Years,” “Moonage Daydream,” and “Rock’n’Roll Suicide.” It also features a great SciFi story, with a fully developed character arc and pretty marvelous world-building. Let Bowie abduct your eardrums this afternoon.

And come back next Tuesday for another installment of SciFi Sounds!

Wham, bam, thank you, ma’am.

– Linds

Leave a comment

Filed under Babes in the Woods, SciFi

Leave a Reply

