World War Z’s First Trailer

Our esteemed colleagues at Io9 object to the lack of zombie marketing, but I’m going to tell you why the absence of zombie talk is music to my ears.

1. There are too many #$&(% zombie things out there lately. The market is saturated, and if semi-pro geek moi is tired of it, you can bet that both seasoned nerds and the mainstream have some feelings as well.

2. World War Z isn’t a traditional zombie story. When I read it for the first time, I was reminded of nothing so much as HBO’s Band of Brothers, or Schindler’s List. What makes the book compelling is that it’s a collection of anecdotes and viewpoints from various survivors of World War Z, which if you don’t know, I realize now, I should explain refers to World War Zombie. In the book, we get a worldview of a complete zombie apocalypse. There are stories from France, Japan, and China, as well as from the States, stories of long-term resistance and survival. It’s RICH, THICK, and dare I say, MEATY.

3. Honestly, I am just so stoked about this movie, and the delicacy with which they are handling the zed stuff is totally exciting to me. Can you imagine, a delicate handling of zombie materials? WE LIVE IN THE GOLDEN AGE OF GENRE, FOOLS. So many and varied are the stylistic offerings that we can have true critical debates.

Have you read World War Z? How do you feel about zombies these days? I’m going to go see Warm Bodies this weekend, so clearly when I say I am tired of it, what I mean is the opposite.

I want to spend my life with a girl like you,

Lindsay

1 Comment

Filed under Linds, Movies, Video, Zombie Apocalypse

One response to “World War Z’s First Trailer

  1. I hope you’re right. I maybe said this to you before, but I’m horrified they’re going to bro it up and lose the awesome series of narratives thing that made the book so wonderful. Also, why are the zombies fast?

Leave a Reply

